PALGRAVE PARISH COUNCIL

Roles & Responsibilities of the Parish Council

Meetings

Parish Council meetings are normally held on the second Thursday of each month either in the Palgrave and District Community Centre, Rose Lane, Palgrave Suffolk IP22 1AP or remotely if physical attendance is not permitted.

All Palgrave residents are invited and encouraged to attend the meetings, with a Public Forum set aside during each meeting. The Parish Council meetings start at 7.30pm and normally finish by 10.00pm. The draft minutes of Palgrave Parish Council Meetings and Committee Meetings are uploaded onto this website within 4 weeks of the meeting being held and are also published on the Parish Notice Board.

Roles undertaken by Councillors

Councillor Pudney is the Chair.

There is currently no Vice-Chair.

Councillors Cooper and Sneddon are the members of the Staffing Committee.

Councillors Pudney, Cooper, and Hollowday are the members of the Cemetery Committee together with the Cemetery Administrator, Mr Phil Dyer, the clerk, Caroline Emeny, and Jane McClintock as a co-opted parishioner.

There is currently no Parish Council Representatives on the Diss and District Neighbourhood Plan Working Party (DDNP).

Councillors Cooper and Prendergast are the Parish Council's authorised signatories.

Councillor Fausset is responsible for the grass cutting of The Green, churchyard and Cemetery (together with the Clerk)

There is no official PDCC representative.

There is not currently a Parish Council appointed Footpath Warden.

Graham Leigh is our Parish Tree Warden.

Delegated Powers

Powers delegated to the Clerk

Powers delegated under Palgrave's Dispensation Policy

Reviewed 15 March 2024